Whittier First Friends Church
A Quaker Meeting

13205 Philadelphia Street
Whittier CA 90601-4386
(562) 698-9805

"A Christian people called to listen, gathered to seek peace, and sent forth to serve."
We are an open and affirming faith community.

| Home | About Us | Events | The Living Light | Peace Camp | Peace Cafe | Links |

Click here for Upcoming Events -- In person events are temporarily suspended --


Come Worship with Quakers

Friends will be worshiping at home for the foreseeable future.

Contact our pastor at her email addess listed below to be added to our e-news and to receive Zoom information.


Read our previous messages here:

Sunday, August 1, Lynda Ladwig Speaking: "Shepherded"

Sunday, July 25, Elisabeth Elliot Speaking: "Seeds at the Roots of Leaves"

Sunday, July 18, Loletta Barrett Speaking: "Abundant Work and Rest"

Sunday, July 11, Tim Colohan, (Dharma Zen Center and Kwan UM School of Zen, Los Angeles) Speaking:
"The Heart of the Buddha’s teaching/practice,” The Heart Sutra as translated by Zen Master Thich Nhat Hanh"

Sunday, July 4, Loletta Barrett Speaking: "Abundant Colors"

Sunday, June 27, Loletta Barrett Speaking: "Abundant Celebration"

Sunday, June 20, Loletta Barrett Speaking: "Abundant Calm"

Sunday, June 13, Weson Van Dorn Speaking: “Not Looking Back, Except to Measure Our Growth"

Sunday, June 6, Loletta Barrett Speaking: "A House Made Whole"

Sunday, May 30, Loletta Barrett Speaking: "Abundant Mystery"

Sunday, May 23, Loletta Barrett Speaking: "Cutting through the Noise"

Sunday, May 16, Loletta Barrett Speaking: "Abundant Advice"

Sunday, May 9, Loletta Barrett Speaking: "Auspicious Beginnings"

Sunday, May 2, Colin Saxton Speaking: "Children of Light in the Neighborhood"

Sunday, April 25, Loletta Barrett Speaking: "Abiding, Abundant Love"

Sunday, April 18, Elisabeth Elliot Speaking: "Just"

Sunday, April 11, Russ Litchfield Speaking: "Doubt, Belief, Faith, Action"

Easter Sunday, April 4, Loletta Barrett Speaking: "Abundant Chances"

Sunday, March 28, Loletta Barrett Speaking: "Abundant Love"

Sunday, March 21, Loletta Barrett Speaking: "Children of Light"

Sunday, March 14, Meeting for Worship with Berkeley Friends

Sunday, March 7, Music Sunday

Sunday, February 28, Loletta Barrett Speaking: "Everything Included: One Big Covenant"

Sunday, February 21, Loletta Barrett Speaking: "Overcoming Paralysis"

Sunday, February 14, Loletta Barrett Speaking: "A Double Share"

Sunday, February 7, Loletta Barrett Speaking: "Casting Out" (Abundant Health)

Sunday, January 31, Bobby Trice, FCNL Speaking: “Wise as Serpents, Innocent as Doves”

Sunday, January 24, Loletta Barrett Speaking: “When Comparisons Fail”

Sunday, January 17, Loletta Barrett Speaking: “I Wish You Enough”

Sunday, January 10, Loletta Barrett Speaking: “Why Scarcity is an Attitude”

Sunday, January 3, Loletta Barrett Speaking: “Living and Dying Abundantly”

Sunday, December 27, Micah Bales Speaking: “Now We Are Children”

Sunday, December 20, Loletta Barrett Speaking: “What Prophets Know”

Sunday, December 13, Loletta Barrett Speaking: “Emmanuel or Immanuel?”

Sunday, December 6, Lynda Ladwig Speaking: “Do You Hear What I Hear”

Sunday, November 29, Loletta Barrett Speaking: “Tasks of Transformation”

Sunday, November 22, Vanessa Julye Speaking: “The Wise and Foolish Builders”

Sunday, November 15, Lynda Ladwig Speaking: “In All Circumstances”

Sunday, November 8, Loletta Barrett Speaking: “Stewards Serving with Wisdom”

Sunday, November 1: “Music Sunday”

Sunday, October 25: Matthew Hisrich Speaking: “Abundant Living in Perilous Times”

Sunday, October 18: Whittier Friends School Sunday: “Love”

Sunday, October 11: Lynda Ladwig Speaking: “Oh, What to Wear”

Sunday, October 4: World Quaker Day- What Does it Mean to be a Quaker Today? Getry Agizah, Peace team Kenya Speaking: “Resilience and Faith”

Sunday, September 27: Loletta Barrett Speaking: “If Only That Old Coat Could Talk”

Sunday, September 20: Loletta Barrett Speaking: "Lot’s Journey: It’s Complicated"

Sunday, September 13: Celebrating Community Connection - “Affirmation Sunday”

Sunday, September 6: Worship with Western Association of the Religious Society of Friends and Berkeley Friends Church “Worship 9-6-2020”

Sunday, August 30: Elisabeth Elliot speaking “I Changed My Mind”

Sunday, August 23: Lynda Ladwig: “Hostility Transformed to Promise”

Sunday, August 16: Loletta Barrett: “Clarity versus Certainty”

Sunday, August 9: Nikki Holland, director of Belize Friends Ministries: “When Water Flows from Rocks”

Sunday, August 2: Robert Wafula: “Renewal Comes Through Time with God”

Sunday, July 26: Loletta Barrett (with a special visit from Adrian Moody): “Seeing the story through God’s Wide Lens”    "Ramallah Friends School: 150 Years of Quaker Education"

Sunday, July 19: Shawn & Katrina McConaughey: "Blessed to be a Blessing"

Sunday, July 12: Oscar Mmbali: "Making Covenants of Peace and Safety"

Sunday, July 5: Loletta Barrett: “Beginnings”

Sunday, June 28: Elisabeth Elliot: “Somewhere Out There”

Sunday, June 21: Loletta Barrett: “Eldering”

Sunday, June 14: Anathea Woirhaye: “So I finished high school”

Sunday, June 7: Lynda Ladwig: “Lessons from an Avocado”

Sunday, May 31: Russ Litchfield: “Hymns of the Holy Spirit - A Music Service for Pentecost”

  


Serving you at First Friends Church:
 
Loletta Barrett, Pastor
Deanna Woirhaye, Clerk of Monthly Meeting
Lynda Ladwig, Minister of Christian Education
Mary Boltz, Office Administrator
Russ Litchfield, Director of Music Ministries
 Lorenzo Mora, Custodian
Russ Litchfield, Organist
George Bouchard, Sound Engineer
  
E-mail contacts: Church Office: firstfriendswhittier@verizon. net
Pastor: pastorffc@verizon.net
Music Dept: musicffc@verizon.net
 
| Home | About Us | Events | The Living Light | Peace Cafe | Links |

 
Created 18-Oct-99 - Revised 04-Jul-2021